The HIKMICRO Stellar SX75LR 4.0 is a thermal rifle scope built around a 1280 × 1024 VOx detector with 12 µm pixels and a 75mm F1.2 lens. Magnification runs from 3.0×–30.0×. The datasheet lists an “LRF-inside” design, so the laser rangefinder is part of the scope and there is no separate box on top. It is the rail-mounting version of the Stellar SX75L: the datasheet’s Mounting row reads “Rail Mounting”. Three things to know up front. HIKMICRO’s 3,600 m figure is a detection range rating, not an identification range. The rated battery time is 7 hours. And the published documents do not say which rail standard the scope is made for. If you are still deciding on a type, see all of our thermal scopes.

HIKMICRO Stellar SX75LR 4.0 Thermal Scope: What You Get
The figures below come from HIKMICRO’s published datasheet for the SX75LR 4.0. They are manufacturer figures.
1280 × 1024 Thermal Detector and 75mm F1.2 Lens
A 1280 × 1024 VOx uncooled detector with 12 µm pixels works in the 8–14 µm band at 50 Hz. The 75mm F1.2 lens gives 3.0×–30.0× magnification and a 12.1° × 9.7° field of view. Focusing is by a side focus ring, with a minimum focusing distance of 10 m. If you are comparing options at this resolution, see our HIKMICRO 1280 thermal scopes.

1,200 m Laser Rangefinder Inside the Scope
The datasheet lists an “LRF-inside” design, so the laser rangefinder is part of the scope and there is no separate box mounted on top. It is a 905 nm Class 1 laser that measures from 10 m out to 1,200 m with ±1 m accuracy.

Ballistic Calculation and Zeroing
The SX75LR lists a ballistic calculation feature, five zeroing profiles and freeze zeroing, so you can store set-ups for more than one rifle or load.

AMOLED Display and Image Processing
The image is shown on a 1.03-inch 2560×2560 AMOLED display, with an 8 mm exit pupil, 55 mm eye relief and a -5D to +5D diopter range. Six palettes are included: Black Hot, White Hot, Red Hot, Fusion, Red Monochrome and Green Monochrome. Brightness, contrast and tone (cold or warm) are adjustable. The datasheet also lists the HIKMICRO Shutterless Image System (HSIS), Image Pro 4.0, Zoom Pro and Sync Pro, and three FFC (Flat Field Correction) modes: Auto, Manual and External Correction.

Recoil Rating
The datasheet rates the SX75LR to 6,000 J of maximum recoil. The scope is IP67 rated and works from -30°C to 55°C.

Recording and App Connection
The scope has 64 GB of built-in eMMC storage for video, audio and snapshots, plus recoil-activated recording and a local album for review. Picture-in-picture, Hotspot and Hot Track are listed as features. Per the Quick Start Guide, the HIKMICRO app connects to the scope over its own hotspot for live view and remote control, firmware upgrades and saved footage.
Battery Life
Two internal rechargeable lithium batteries and one replaceable 18650 battery give 7 hours of continuous running at 25°C with the rangefinder on, which is HIKMICRO’s rating. The internal batteries charge over USB-C (5 V DC/2 A, QC3.0), and the external 18650 charges in the supplied battery charger.

Rail Mounting and Quick-Detach Saddle-Mount
The datasheet lists the mounting as “Rail Mounting”. The Quick Start Guide’s installation steps for the rail-mounted model use a quick-detach saddle-mount, three slider nuts, fastening screws and two locking levers, and it lists a “Rail” as a part of the rail-mounted model. The datasheet gives a centre height of 41 mm, and the scope weighs 1,140 g with the external battery fitted.
The published documents do not tell us which rail standard the scope is made for, whether the saddle-mount and slider nuts come in the box, or whether the rail changes the dimensions and centre height printed on the datasheet. Check with us before you order if you are matching it to a particular rifle or mount. Our thermal mounts guide covers mounting options.
SX75L 4.0 or SX75LR 4.0: Which One?
The SX75L 4.0 is the standard-tube version of the same scope. On the datasheets, the detector, lens, rangefinder, battery and features match. Apart from the model number, only two rows differ:
| Specification | SX75L 4.0 | SX75LR 4.0 |
|---|---|---|
| Mounting | Standard 30 mm tube | Rail mounting |
| Weight (with external battery) | 1,075 g | 1,140 g |
Choose the SX75L if you want to use 30 mm rings. Choose the SX75LR if you want to mount on a rail.
SX75LR 4.0 Compared With Stellar SX60LS 3.0
The Stellar SX60LS 3.0 is still listed on our site, and it is the closest 3.0 scope in the 1280 class. This table only lists specs that are published for both generations. All figures are the manufacturer’s own, and we have not compared image quality between the two.
| Specification | SX60LS 3.0 | SX75LR 4.0 |
|---|---|---|
| Detector resolution | 1280px (as named on our listing) | 1280 × 1024, 12 µm |
| Lens | 60 mm, F1.0 | 75 mm, F1.2 |
| Magnification | 2.5×–28.5× | 3.0×–30.0× |
| Field of view (degrees) | 14.6° × 11.7° | 12.1° × 9.7° |
| Display | 1.03-inch 2560 × 2560 OLED | 1.03-inch 2560 × 2560 AMOLED |
| Exit pupil | 6 mm | 8 mm |
| Eye relief | 45 mm | 55 mm |
| Battery operating time (25°C, LRF on) | 6.5 hours | 7 hours |
Dimensions, weight, maximum recoil and detection range are left out. The 3.0 weight is given without the external battery and its recoil figure is in different units, so neither is comparable. The 4.0 datasheet gives the SX75LR the same dimensions as the SX75L, and we have not confirmed them for the rail version. We do not quote a 3.0 detection range because our listing does not state one in its specifications.
SX75LR 4.0 Specifications
| Specification | Hikmicro Stellar SX75LR 4.0 |
|---|---|
| Image Sensor | VOx Uncooled Focal Plane Arrays |
| Max. Resolution | 1280 × 1024 |
| Frame Rate | 50 Hz |
| Pixel Interval | 12 µm |
| Response Waveband | 8 µm to 14 µm |
| Lens (Focal Length) | 75 mm, F1.2 |
| Focus Mode | Side focus ring |
| Detection Range | 3,600 m |
| Min. Focusing Distance | 10 m |
| Magnification | 3.0×–30.0× |
| Field of View (H × V), degrees | 12.1° × 9.7° |
| Display | 2560×2560, 1.03-inch AMOLED |
| Palettes | Black Hot, White Hot, Red Hot, Fusion, Red Monochrome, Green Monochrome |
| Exit Pupil | 8 mm |
| Eye Relief | 55 mm |
| Diopter Range | -5D to +5D |
| Image Features | HSIS, Image Pro 4.0, Zoom Pro, Sync Pro |
| FFC (Flat Field Correction) Mode | Auto, Manual, External Correction |
| Recording | On-board video, audio recording, snapshots, recoil-activated recording |
| Storage | Built-in eMMC, 64 GB |
| Other Features | PIP, Hotspot, Hot Track, Standby Mode, Local Album |
| Zeroing | 5 zeroing profiles, freeze zeroing |
| Ballistic Calculation | Yes |
| Max. Recoil | 6,000 J |
| Laser Rangefinder | 905 nm, Class 1, 10 m to 1,200 m, ±1 m accuracy |
| Battery | Two rechargeable lithium batteries (internal), one replaceable rechargeable 18650 battery (external) |
| Battery Operating Time | 7-hour continuous running (25°C, LRF on) |
| Charging | 5 V DC/2 A USB Type-C, supports QC3.0 (built-in battery only; external battery charges in the battery charger) |
| Mounting | Rail Mounting (rail standard not stated by HIKMICRO) |
| Dimensions | 445.7 × 93.5 × 78.7 mm (per datasheet; not confirmed for the rail version) |
| Weight | 1,140 g with external battery |
| Centre Height | 41 mm (per datasheet; not confirmed for the rail version) |
| Working Temperature | -30°C to 55°C (-22°F to 131°F) |
| Protection Level | IP67 |
| Model (datasheet) | HM-TR8C-75Y3G/WLR-SX75LR 4.0 |
What’s Supplied
Per the datasheet: scope (×1), battery (×2), battery charger (×1), Type-C cable (×1), lint-free cloth (×1), scope guard (×1), bag (×1) and Quick Start Guide (×1). The Quick Start Guide also lists a bag strap and scope protective stickers (only for some models). That list does not mention a quick-detach saddle-mount or slider nuts, so we cannot confirm they are included. Check with us before ordering if you need to know.
Questions Buyers Ask About the SX75LR 4.0
What is the difference between the SX75LR 4.0 and the SX75L 4.0?
On the datasheets, the two scopes share the same detector, lens, rangefinder, battery and features. The differences are mounting (rail mounting on the SX75LR, a standard 30 mm tube on the SX75L), weight (1,140 g against 1,075 g with the external battery) and the model number. Pick the mounting style that suits your rifle and set-up.
What rail does the SX75LR 4.0 fit?
We do not know yet. The datasheet says “Rail Mounting”, and the Quick Start Guide describes a quick-detach saddle-mount fixed with slider nuts, but neither names a rail standard or lists compatible rails. We would rather say so than guess. Check with us before ordering if you need to match a specific rail. Our thermal mounts guide has more on mounting.
Is the SX75LR 4.0 heavy, and how will it balance?
HIKMICRO lists 1,140 g with the external battery fitted. That is 65 g more than the SX75L at 1,075 g, and it is the heaviest of the four Stellar 4.0 models on the datasheets (SQ50L 1,008 g, SQ50LR 1,073 g, SX75L 1,075 g). How it balances depends on your rifle, the mount and where you place it, and we have not tested that.
Is a 1280 sensor worth it over a 640 sensor?
A 1280 × 1024 detector has four times the pixels of a 640 × 512 one, and both have 12 µm pixels on these datasheets. More pixels can show more detail in the thermal image, but we do not have side-by-side footage of the SX75LR and a 640 scope, so we do not claim how much difference you will see in the field. Weigh it against the 7-hour rated battery time and the extra weight. You can compare more options in our HIKMICRO 1280 thermal scopes.
How far can I actually see and identify game with a 1280×1024, 75mm scope?
HIKMICRO rates the detection range at 3,600 m. That is a detection rating, not an identification range. The datasheet gives no test conditions and no identification range, so we do not quote one. How far you can identify an animal depends on its size, the conditions and your magnification. Our guide on how to choose a thermal scope explains the difference between detection and identification.
How long does the battery last?
HIKMICRO rates it at 7 hours of continuous running at 25°C with the rangefinder on. It has two internal rechargeable batteries plus one replaceable 18650. Only the internal batteries charge over USB-C. The 18650 charges in the supplied battery charger. The datasheet does not give run time in the cold or with recording on.
Does the rail change the SX75LR 4.0’s height or size?
The datasheet gives a centre height of 41 mm and dimensions of 445.7 × 93.5 × 78.7 mm for the SX75LR, the same as the SX75L. The datasheet drawing for the SX75LR also shows an extra dimension of about 85.9 mm that it does not explain. Because the SX75LR is the rail version, we have not confirmed that those figures include the rail and saddle-mount. How high it sits on your rifle also depends on the rail and mount you use.
Stellar 4.0 Manual
Download the Stellar 4.0 quick start guide (PDF).




















